Raghav Chadha responds to Amit Shah’s fraud accusation against AAP motion.”

Union Home Minister Amit Shah has raised allegations of fraud pertaining to a motion presented by Raghav Chadha, a member of the Aam Aadmi Party, concerning the Delhi Services Bill. During the debate in the Rajya Sabha before the bill was put to vote on Monday evening, Amit Shah asserted that the motion included the names of five Members of Parliament (MPs) in a fraudulent manner, warranting an investigation by the Parliament’s Privilege Committee. In response, Raghav Chadha evaded the issue, stating that he would provide a response only if the Privilege Committee formally notified him.

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!

The motion introduced by Aam Aadmi Party MP Raghav Chadha on Monday sought to send the Delhi Services Bill to a Select Committee. However, the authenticity of the motion came into question as two MPs asserted that they had not seconded it. Sasmit Patra of the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) clarified that he had never given consent to be included in the motion and questioned how his name had been included, leading to turmoil within the house.

As Opposition members protested loudly, Amit Shah, who had introduced the Delhi Services Bill in the house, contended that the matter was one of privilege and should be examined by the Privilege Committee. Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman Harivansh confirmed that four members had filed complaints regarding the issue, which would be looked into.

The MPs whose names were in question were Narhari Amin, Sudhanshu Trivedi, Sasmit Patra, Thambidurai, and Phangon Konyak. All five MPs filed individual notices of breach of privilege against Raghav Chadha.

In a subsequent interview with NDTV, Sasmit Patra expressed his stance, asserting that he had submitted a notice of privilege motion. He clarified that his name had been incorrectly included in Raghav Chadha’s motion to send the Delhi Services Bill to a Select Committee, alongside the names of other MPs. Patra called for an investigation into the matter by the Privileges Committee.

The Biju Janata Dal, along with Andhra Pradesh’s YSR Congress and TDP, extended support to the bill, ensuring its smooth passage in the House. Rajya Sabha MP Keshav Rao of Telangana’s Bharat Rashtra Samithi emphasized that members should be consulted before their names are included in such motions, underlining the significance of adhering to the rules. He regarded the situation as a mistake that could be rectified through a simple apology, criticizing Amit Shah for escalating the matter.

The Bharat Rashtra Samithi backed the Aam Aadmi Party in the context of the bill, which received 131 votes in favor and 102 votes against, with four MPs abstaining. The new law, requiring only the President’s approval, grants the Central Government authority to oversee the functioning of the Delhi government by having the final say in the appointments, transfers, and postings of bureaucrats and employees.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Amazon India Today's Deals

Scroll to Top