Today’s bypoll results for seven assembly seats: All eyes on the India vs. NDA showdown; top updates.

The bypoll results update indicates that the counting of votes for seven assembly seats (Bageshwar, Ghosi, Puthuppally, Dhupguri, Dumri, Boxanagar, and Dhanpur) commenced at 8 am. These bypolls hold significant electoral importance as they serve as a crucial test for the Opposition’s coalition known as the Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance (INDIA) against the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA). This test is pivotal as it precedes the assembly polls in five states later this year and the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The counting process started at dedicated centers in the respective states.

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!

These seven assembly seats were contested on September 5, and prior to the by-elections, three seats (Dhanpur, Bageshwar, and Dhupguri) were held by the BJP, while one seat each was held by the Samajwadi Party (Ghosi), CPI(M) (Boxanagar), JMM (Dumri), and the Congress (Puthuppally).

Here are some key updates on the bypoll results:

1.In Uttar Pradesh’s Ghosi, the INDIA coalition presented a united front for the by-election, with a voter turnout slightly above average at 50.77 percent. The Ghosi seat became vacant after the resignation of Samajwadi Party (SP) MLA Dara Singh Chauhan, who subsequently rejoined the BJP.

2.In Jharkhand’s Dumri, a significant voter turnout of 64.84 percent was recorded. The counting center was established at Krishi Bazar Samiti, Pachambha, in Giridih district, with 24 rounds of counting and over 70 officials involved in the process. The main contest featured Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM)’s Bebi Devi and AJSU Party’s Yashoda Devi, with AIMIM’s Abdul Rizvi also joining the race. Both INDIA and NDA claimed victory for their respective candidates.

3.For the Bageshwar assembly bypoll in Uttarakhand, counting occurred at 14 tables with 130 polling personnel overseeing the process. The seat was vacated following the passing of MLA and cabinet minister Chandan Ram Das earlier in the year.

4.In Tripura, the counting for both Boxanagar and Dhanpur seats took place at Sonamura Girls’ HS School. Notably, the CPI(M) announced a boycott of the counting, alleging widespread rigging during voting.

5.In West Bengal’s Dhupguri, where there had been violence during previous elections, personnel from central armed forces and state police were deployed to guard the strong room at North Bengal University in Jalpaiguri. Voter turnout here was around 76 percent.

6.Kerala’s Puthuppally, a fiercely contested seat left vacant by the demise of Congress stalwart Oommen Chandy, awaited results. This constituency, located in Kottayam district, witnessed intense campaigning and a prestige battle between the UDF and LDF. The counting of votes took place at Baselius College, with postal and service ballots counted first.

Overall, these bypolls have been closely watched due to their potential impact on the political landscape in these states and at the national level.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Amazon India Today's Deals

Scroll to Top