Deans at KU reject allegations of irregularities in PhD admissions.

In Warangal, the deans of various departments at Kakatiya University (KU) expressed their support for Vice-Chancellor Prof. Thatikonda Ramesh, who has been facing allegations of irregularities in PhD admissions. In a joint statement, the deans vehemently denied any irregularities in the PhD admissions and explained the factors affecting the university’s reputation.

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!

Over the past five years, there were no PhD admissions, leading to a high demand for the program. To address this, the Vice-Chancellor enlisted retired professors and eligible faculty from government degree colleges as supervisors, aiming to increase the number of available seats.

Initially, meritorious students who had received prestigious national fellowships were admitted under category-I in June 2022. The issue arose when the PhD admission process moved to category-II. After conducting the entrance exams, the answer key was publicly shared on the KU website, and corrections and suggestions were invited. The suggestions were reviewed by subject experts, and a final key was prepared. Candidates were given access to their OMR sheets.

The Vice Chancellor emphasized the importance of merit, reservation rules, and transparency in the selection committee interviews. The entire interview process was recorded for transparency, a first in the university’s history, and received appreciation.

Selection committees included experienced faculty members and representatives from various social categories to ensure social justice and inclusion. Subject experts from prestigious institutions and universities were also part of the committees. Candidates with concerns were encouraged to approach the concerned Deans for clarification.

The deans noted that some students, seeking leadership positions in upcoming Assembly elections, caused disturbances on campus. They not only threatened authorities but also damaged university property. Retired professors, part-time teachers, non-teaching employees, and a few executive council members were reportedly involved in the unrest. The statement was issued by deans Prof. Banna Ailaiah, Prof. Y Narasimha Reddy, Prof. P Malla Reddy, Prof. P Amaraveni, Prof. Vijayalaxmi, Prof. T Srinivasulu, Prof. S Ramanatha Kishan, and Prof. T Manohar.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Amazon India Today's Deals

Scroll to Top