Five states will hold elections from November 7 to 30, with results expected on December 3.

In the upcoming 2023 state assembly elections, Madhya Pradesh will conduct voting in a single phase on November 17, followed by Rajasthan on November 23, and Telangana on November 30. The election season kicks off with Mizoram voting on November 7.

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!

Chhattisgarh stands out as the only state in this election round to vote in two phases: the first phase coinciding with Mizoram’s voting on November 7, and the second with Madhya Pradesh on November 17. All election results will be officially announced on December 3.

Approximately 16.1 crore people are expected to cast their votes in this election round, which is often referred to as the ‘semi-finals’ since it takes place just months before the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

Recalling the 2018 polls, the Congress secured victories in Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, and Madhya Pradesh. However, it couldn’t maintain its grip on Madhya Pradesh due to the defection of ex-leader Jyotiraditya Scindia and nearly two dozen lawmakers from the ruling party to the BJP, leading to the downfall of Kamal Nath’s government.

In Chhattisgarh, the Congress won 68 seats, while the BJP secured just 15, with the former claiming 43 per cent of the vote-share, out of a total of 90 Assembly seats, with the majority mark set at 46.

In Madhya Pradesh, the BJP and Congress finished closely matched; the saffron party won 109 seats, and the Congress secured 114. The state comprises 230 Assembly segments, with the majority mark at 116. Vote-share was nearly evenly split, with 41 per cent each for the BJP and the Congress.

Of the 200 seats in the Rajasthan Assembly (with the majority mark at 101), the Congress won 100, and the BJP secured 73 in the last election. The Congress eventually formed the government, with support from the Bahujan Samaj Party, which claimed six seats.

Telangana, the sole southern state in this round of elections, has 119 seats, with the majority mark set at 60. Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao’s Bharat Rashtra Samithi secured a resounding victory in 2018, winning 88 seats. The Congress was a distant second with 19 seats, and Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM came third with seven. The BJP won just one Assembly segment.

Lastly, in Mizoram, the Mizo National Front dominated the 2018 polls, securing 27 out of 40 seats. The Congress won just four, and the BJP secured one seat, with independent candidates winning the remaining seats. The majority mark in the Mizoram Assembly stands at 21 seats.

The terms of the Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Telangana assemblies are set to end in January next year, while Mizoram’s term concludes in December.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Amazon India Today's Deals

Scroll to Top