Telangana Chief Minister KCR faces trouble as Congress crosses halfway mark and leads.

In the ongoing counting of votes for Telangana’s 119 assembly seats, the Congress is making significant strides with an early lead on 70 seats, posing a challenge to the ruling Bharat Rashtra Samiti (BRS), which currently leads on 37 seats. If this trend persists, it will mark the first time a party other than BRS takes control of India’s youngest state since its establishment in 2014.

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!

Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao, contesting from Gajwel and Kamareddy, is presently leading in Gajwel but trailing in Kamareddy. Congress spokesperson Lavanya Ballal Jain expressed confidence in her party’s victory, stating that they are certain about forming the government across all four states with results due today. She emphasized that the Congress has no plans for operations like “Operation Kamala” and welcomes individuals and parties willing to join, avoiding any poaching tactics.

Telangana’s ruling party faced anti-incumbency sentiments, relying on welfare measures such as Rythu Bandhu and Rythu Bima for farmers, Dalit and BC Bandhu schemes for marginalized groups, and the Gruha Lakshmi scheme for housing the underprivileged. Exit polls suggest a narrow victory for Congress, projected to win 62 seats, while BRS might be reduced to 44 seats.

The state’s voter turnout for the November 30 election was 71.34%, slightly lower than the 2018 figure. In the 2018 elections, TRS secured 88 seats, Congress followed with 19, Telugu Desam Party won two, AIMIM claimed seven, and BJP secured only one seat.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Amazon India Today's Deals

Scroll to Top